UPDATE: The Way of a Man with a Neighbor

writing-stone tabletWe set goals, but sometimes reality kicks in and alters those goals. Such is the case with my upcoming release The Way of a Man with a Neighbor.

My goal was to have what I intended to be a novella on the streets this month: August. But the story won’t let me. Here’s why:

I have over thirty novels and novellas published under my real name and under my pseudonym The Black. Probably half of them are novellas, because my personal writing style is to focus on telling the story, not to write to a page length or word count. When my story is done, it’s done.

If you’ve been following the history behind The Way of a Man with a Neighbor you know I was inspired to write it as a modern day version of the Victorian era erotic tale The Way of a Man with a Maid. I anticipated that my story would be similar in length, and be a get-to-the-point erotic story of a man who has intimacies with his neighbor. I had the story mentally outlined, and I figured it would clock in at about 40,000 words. A novella. But then, well…

The Way of a Man with a Neighbor is at over 84,000 words, and the mystery plot turn has yet to happen. The book threatens to become my longest release ever, even beating out my 115,000 word saga The Professional. That’s my estimate. When all is said and done will I cull some stuff in the edit? Probably. But it’s still going to be novel length because Sam and Camilla have a lot to tell you.

So when is it coming out? I’ll likely miss my 31 August deadline, but The Way of a Man with a Neighbor will be on the streets a few days after.

Stay tuned.

~B~

Posted on August 30, 2015, in erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

