Excerpt from IF ONLY FOR ONE NIGHT (Knights of Passion #1)

KoP 1 Cover-250“So tell me Mr. Griffin Knight, now that we’re speaking of things not related to business, as far as you and I are concerned, what do you want?”

I figured that finishing school Suzanne went to taught her that a lady should let a man make the first move, probably after the lady has laid out some irresistible bait. Horny or not I wasn’t hard up enough to lie just to get laid. I’d just been in a room with two naked women and had managed to maintain. I had no problem being honest and speaking my mind on the phone.

I said, “I’m not going to blow smoke up your pretty butt and tell you I want the white picket fence and 2.5 kids. Like you said, we’re just now starting to talk about things other than business, so we don’t know each other like that—not yet anyway. You’re a nice woman, Suzanne; very personable and very intelligent. I picked that up talking to you on a professional level. Now having met you, I know you’re the whole package. You’re a beautiful woman. So of course I’m interested.”

“And what exactly are you interested in, Mr. Knight?” I heard the humor in Suzanne’s tone. She was keeping it light while still testing me.

“Interested in seeing where we go,” I said.

“You don’t have a goal in mind?”

I didn’t, actually. It wasn’t like Suzanne was my best or only option. And I knew I wasn’t hers. She had a sure thing with her boss, George. I had the same with my boss, Beth. When you’re not hard up you’re not desperate, so you don’t need to lie.

I said, “I think it would be nice to see your lack of sleeping attire up close and personal.”

“Is that your way of saying you want to sleep with me, Mr. Knight?” Suzanne was still dangling her bait, tempting me to jump after it.

“Oh, at some point we can sleep too,” I said.

“I see.”

Of course she saw. We were playing her game.

I thought about how cute Chi looked in her fuzzy pink sweater and jeans. I remembered how good she smelled. In spite of the residual ache of sexual frustration in the pit of my stomach I thought if I had to choose between spending time with Chi fully dressed the way she’d been or with Suzanne naked in bed, I might still go for Chi. Suzanne wasn’t a sure thing, not in any sense. My friendship with Chione was rock solid.

With that thought fortifying my resolve I said, “So Suzanne, what’s your goal as far as we’re concerned?”

“I told you Griffin; every now and then I like to pamper myself.”

“Is that what you’d call it?”

“Something tells me we’d enjoy our experience.” Her tone straddled the line between anticipatory excitement and just plain wicked.

“There’s only one way to find out,” I said and crossed my mental fingers.

“That’s very true, Griffin. And, if you’re going to be making references to what you called my pretty butt you ought to at least know what you’re talking about.”

I assumed Suzanne meant that the next time I saw her I was going to get to see her pretty butt in greater detail than I had during my first visit. Based on my assumption I suggested I visit her again soon, and when it wasn’t about business.

“I’d just love to see you again,” she said with her southern accent oozing molasses sweetness.

We agreed to my flying down on the second weekend in November. After our call I made my flight and hotel reservations.

Maybe I wouldn’t need a hotel room. Still, I was playing Suzanne’s game. I wasn’t going to assume too much.

COMING JANUARY 2015

Posted on January 5, 2015, in african american, erotica, lesbian, romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Reblogged this on melbynum's Blog and commented:
    The Black’s newest book excerpt…

Leave a Reply

