The Writing Process Blog Tour

I got tagged by Nia Forrester, author of Mistress and Wife, to take part in a writer’s blog tour in which we discuss our writing process. Okay, here we go…

 

What am I working on?

Nightwalkers 2 Cover-250Currently I’m working on the second episode in the Nightwalkers series: Night Lovers.

Nightwalkers was inspired by the stories I remember from early childhood while visiting my grandmother down in North Carolina. She lived on a farm, and on summer evenings the family would sit on the front porch because it was cooler out there than inside. Among other front porch conversations, the adults used to tell stories I’m sure were intended to terrify us kids. They whispered tales about noises in the woods, strange people and animals traversing lightless country roads, people who’d died that decided to come back and pay loved ones a visit—fun stuff like that that would keep us lying awake in bed, examining every shadow and creak.

Nightwalkers began as one of those type stories. It left my mental starting block with no idea where the track might lead, or how far ahead the finish line might be. My what if was, “What if there’s this guy walking down a country road at night, and he hears something in the woods following him?” My next question to self was, “What if this man isn’t walking alone, and his walking companion is something worse than the danger tracking him in the woods? And what if his companion is a child? What’s in the woods, and what is the child?” So I worked those ideas out, and came up with the basics of the first two books in the series.

How does my release differ from others of its genre?

Nightwalkers is a vampire saga at its core. However, the layers around the core deal with race and religion and history, from the beginnings of mankind to the present day. There’s a battle between good and evil, and the character’s internal battles as they attempt to reconcile the things they must do to have what they want or need.

The tagline for Night Lovers is “Love can be worse than death.” The issue is loneliness, and what people are willing to do to not be alone, and whether they are willing to make certain choices and pay certain prices. As the series continues we’ll meet new characters—some human and some not—and some who might end up being both.

Another difference is that early in the series there aren’t many vampires in the world. I won’t say exactly how many because that’ll ruin a plot point, but there’s a reason for the few, and a reason more will come along that has more to do with religious prophecy than blood lust.

Why do I write what I do?

My ideas come from everywhere, and when one really inspires I run with it. That’s why I’m not a single genre author. I’ve written thrillers and science-fiction, erotica and relationship dramas. I’ve got the skeleton of an Old West tale in my closet and the DNA for an epic fantasy brewing in the lab. I suppose Nightwalkers falls into the horror category, but I like to think it’s more than that because it includes elements of other genres.

How does my writing process work?

I usually work out an entire story—the major plot points—in my head before sitting down to write. I’m not one of those people who can sit in front of a blank Word document with no idea in mind and try to come up with something. I need the idea first, and then days, weeks or even years to mentally play with and shape that idea into sections of character’s lives that eventually lead to a conclusion. If I don’t know how it’s going to end I can’t write my way to it, because a big part of the excitement of writing for me is knowing where I want to take the reader and then showing them some hopefully cool things along the way. I can work out the stops in between as I go, but I need to know where we’re going to end up.

As an example, the first novel in the Insatiable series should have been Simon Bishop’s story. But so far, three novels in, I haven’t decided on what the end to his story will be. So all those episodes in his life are sitting on my hard drive, waiting for my muse to tell me what happens in the final chapters. In the meantime I spilled the beans on his family. That also happened with The Professional. I’d written a couple of novel’s worth of material on Lucas, but it sat for a few years until I decided how his story would end.

My tag picks are:

Aja, author of Unexpected.

SK Hardy, author of Sins and Betrayals and other titles in the Sin City Heat series.

Uvi Poznansky, author of Twisted and A Favorite Son.

Posted on June 2, 2014, in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’m like you. The idea flows in my head a while before I write, too.

Leave a Reply

