Paying it Forward: The Next Big Thing Blog Hop!

Thanks to Nikki Walker, author of Redemptive Acts Part I for tagging me for this Blog Hop. This is a nice way for us to provide some information about ourselves and our projects and to promote other members of the writing family. So here I go answering my 10 questions:

What is the working title of your book?

The working title is The Hitman Chronicles.  

Hitman Chronicles Cover-web

Where did the idea of the book come from? About ten years ago I was trying to come up with an idea for a short story that I could contribute to a website that posted erotic stories. I wanted my story to be different; not the standard lonely housewife meets the pool boy type thing. So I thought, “What if the male protagonist is a professional assassin, and what if the female lead character is his intended target?” From that “what if?” the assassin Duncan Gray was born. The twist in the original story was Duncan having the tables turned on him by his intended victim, and having to be saved by his partner, a female assassin.

That short story led to more short stories about the exploits of Duncan Gray: The Hitman. His female partner became two new characters: his niece Simone, and Nikira Horikoshi. Nikira is Duncan’s one-time love interest, and one of the deadliest (and craziest) assassins in the world. Duncan and Nikira are in the same business, but the difference between them is that Duncan kills for money, and Nikira kills because she enjoys it. For her, the money she receives for killing people is just icing on the cake.

Duncan and Nikira are loners. Their profession necessitates that they don’t allow people to get too close to them. That changes for Duncan when he meets gallery owner Maisha Templeton. Because of Maisha, Duncan begins to reevaluate who he wants to be, what he wants for his life, and who he wants in his life. Maisha also has an effect on Nikira. She has given Nikira a new target for her insatiable bloodlust.

What is the genre of this book?

Drama, Action-Adventure, Thriller, with a spoonful of Romance and a dash of Erotica.

Which actors would you choose to play the characters of the movie rendition?

I think the pending book series might be better served as a premium channel television series. These are the actors I envision:

Duncan Gray: Idris Elba

Nikira Horikoshi: Lucy Liu

Simone Gray: Nona Gaye

Maisha Templeton: Eva Marcille

Professor Clifton Alford: Ian McKellen

Special Agent Avery Silva: Harry Lennix

Kevin McCormick: Mos Def

Actor Images Here:  

Idris Elba as Duncan Gray

Idris Elba as Duncan Gray

Lucy Liu as Nikira Horikoshi

Lucy Liu as Nikira Horikoshi

Eva Marcille as Maisha Templeton

Eva Marcille as Maisha Templeton

Harry Lennix as Agent Avery Silva

Harry Lennix as Agent Avery Silva

Nona Gaye as Simone Gray

Nona Gaye as Simone Gray

Ian McKellen as Professor Clifton Alford

Ian McKellen as Professor Clifton Alford

Mos Def as Kevin McCormick

Mos Def as Kevin McCormick

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Two emotionally damaged people embark on a journey to find themselves while leaving a trail of bloody bodies in their wake.  

How long did it take for you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

The first draft has always been a living document, always evolving, never concluding. I don’t know if The Hitman Chronicles will ever end.  

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I don’t think my story is quite like any others that I’m familiar with. If I have to pick, I’d say it’s a cross between the Hit series by Lawrence Block and the Atticus Kodiak series by Greg Rucka.  

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My inspiration was wanting to do something different. Once I created the Duncan Gray character for that short story, I began to wonder who he was and what made him tick. So I started writing and posting more stories about him, and well, one thing led to another. I think I have enough material right now for three novels, and I’m not done.  

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Besides Duncan and Nikira, all of the above characters have back stories significant enough to be stand-alone novels.

So those are my answers to the 10 questions. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. Thanks for tagging me Nikki!  I would like to tag Alana Brown, author of Late Nights on the Straight and Narrow!

Posted on January 23, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Great idea and marketing stragedy.. Much success on your book 🙂

  2. Nice! Looks like fun. I’ll have to think about who the actors would be.

  3. This was a very interesting tid bit. I love the choices you made as far as the actors. I could very easily envision that ensemble.

  1. Pingback: Paying It Forward: The Next Big Thing Blog Hop! | Considering the Lily

Leave a Reply

