New Release: Passion’s Journey

The third sizzling episode in the Passion series is available for the Kindle and the Nook!

Excerpt:

ONE

 

 

Cancun, Mexico
Wednesday Morning

 

The captain of the one hundred twenty foot luxury yacht called herself Javari. She was a dusky beauty of an undetermined ethnicity with waist-length sepia hair, naturally highlighted with strands of amber. Her eyes were combination of brown and gray, dominated by one hue or the other depending on the light.

The yacht was a gift to her from a wealthy former lover to show his appreciation for her many talents, not the least of which was the ability to pilot sea vessels. She made her living chartering her gift yacht to wealthy clients.

Javari was a very private woman. She spoke little, and kept her personal affairs to herself. She treated the activities of her clients while on board her vessel with equal decorum. That’s why Julian St. Christopher chartered her yacht. He was a man who placed great value on his privacy.

And, Javari was lovely.

Julian had instructed Javari to drop anchor a mile off the coast of Cancun. He’d flown directly from his morning meeting in Washington with the Vice President and subsequent lunch with his employees in the Herndon, Virginia branch of one of his companies – STC Technologies – to Cancun. There was a matter he needed to attend to, and this Caribbean Sea resort was the perfect place to do so.

He used a satellite phone to call Scott, the pilot of his Learjet. “Have you dropped her off?” he asked.

“Yes sir, we touched down an hour ago,” Scott replied. “I put her on a speedboat maybe twenty minutes ago. She should be coming into your view soon.”

“Did she have any questions about being diverted to Mexico?”

“She was quite a bit irritated sir, seeing as how she expected to be going to Chicago for a meeting. I explained that you had another project for her, and that she’d get more details at the end of the flight. This was after she almost ripped my head off.”

Julian laughed and said, “Hey, I’m sorry about that, Scott. She can be testy at times.”

“Well, send me a bottle of Blue Label and all will be forgiven.”

“Consider it done. We’ll be heading home day after tomorrow. Until then, enjoy the beach.”

“Thanks, Mr. St. Christopher. And thanks for flying the wife and kids down.”

“Hey, I don’t want Susan mad at me for letting you chill in the Caribbean without her.”

As Julian ended the call he saw the speedboat in the distance off the stern, bouncing over the blue water in the direction of the yacht.

———-

“How was London?” Julian asked as he helped Victoria West on board.

She was dressed in a navy business suit and heels, and stepped carefully from the smaller boat onto the yacht. When she was safely on board she glared at him. “Did you bring me all the way out in the middle of the ocean to ask me that?”

“You haven’t been to the house lately.”

“They make these things called telephones. Try one sometime.”

“I did. You’ve got Deanna answering whenever I call.”

“Deanna is more than capable of taking care of what you need, Julian. Or do you just prefer that your blonde chemist take care of your needs?”

“That’s what this is all about, isn’t it? You’re angry because Deanna walked in on Glenda and me and then reported what she saw to you.”

“You’re a grown man, Julian. You do what you want to do. You always do.”

Julian nodded at the powerboat operator. The operator spun the boat around and roared back in the direction of the mainland.

“Hey, tell him to come back!” Victoria shouted. “I’m not staying here!”

“Sorry, I only hired him for one a one-way passenger carry.”

“You bastard.”

“You don’t want to hang here with me, Vicki? Look around…this is beautiful…blue sky…blue sea…fancy yacht…”

“I have better things to do, like work.”

“You work for me.”

“And that’s all I’m going to do from now on. Now have whoever is driving this thing start it up and take me back.”

“She’s below deck in her quarters, and that’s where she’ll be until we go back in two days.”

Now Victoria put her hands on her hips. “She? Oh, don’t tell me…”

“It’s not like that. I hired her because of her discretion.”

“Yeah, I bet. And let me guess: She’s fucking gorgeous.”

“I hadn’t noticed.”

“Julian, when you’re telling a bold-faced lie, try not to smile, okay?”

“She won’t bother us. She has her instructions.”

“You mean she won’t bother you. I know you have a sat phone. Let me use it so I can call somebody to come and get me.”

“Stay and I’ll give you an early raise.”

“You can’t bribe me, asshole. This isn’t about money.”

“Then what’s it about, Vicki?”

She crossed her arms over her chest. “Nothing.”

“You’re pouting.”

“I don’t pout. Spoiled little girls pout.”

“You look really sexy when you pout.”

“Shut up.”

“Come here. I want to kiss you.”

“Take me back to shore.”

“You’re not going anywhere, Vicki. For the next two days you belong to me.”

“Did it ever occur to you Julian, that maybe I don’t want to be with you?”

“And maybe you do, Victoria. I think your feelings are in the affirmative. So stay here on this nice yacht with me. Let’s spend two days in the sun, eating shrimp cocktail, drinking pina coladas and enjoying each other’s company, just the two of us. Let me spend the next two days pampering you…and kissing you.”

“I hate the very air you breathe, do you know that?”

“No you don’t.” Julian stepped closer to her. He tried to kiss her, but she turned her face away. He kissed her neck instead, and let his lips stay there for more.

Victoria hunched her shoulders against his kisses. “Damn it, stop that.”

“I can’t.” He placed his hands on her waist to keep her close and nuzzled her behind her ear.

“God damn you, Julian…”

Against her neck he said, “Stay here with me, Vicki. You know you want to.”

Victoria pushed away from him and stepped back. She glared at him and said, “You have a lot of nerve, do you know that? Do you think you can fuck that Scandinavian wench on your desk – on your desk – and then just send for me like I’m property?”

“Deanna gave you a full report, did she?”

“Kiss my ass, Julian.”

“Okay, no problem. That would be a nice start.”

She almost smiled. He saw it. To cover it she wiped her fingers over the beads of perspiration dotting her brow. “This is kidnapping, you know that don’t you? I can have you arrested for this.”

“You look hot,” he said.

“That’s because I’m dressed for Chicago and you’ve got me out here in this tropic heat.”

“Then take your clothes off.”

“Yeah, you wish.”

“I bought you some things – some bathing suits, a couple of sarongs, Prada sandals…”

“Prada?”

“Yep.”

“And let me guess – the bathing suits are thongs.”

“Actually, I thought thongs covered too much. These babies, you need a microscope to see.”

Victoria uncrossed her arms. “I’m not that easy, Julian. Maybe Glenda is, but I’m not.”

“I wasn’t sure which sandals you’d like so I bought six pair.”

She blinked. “Six pair?”

“Different styles and colors.”

“You think you can buy me with gifts?”

“No, you’re more valuable to me than anything money can buy. I just wanted to show you how much I appreciate you.”

He saw her face soften. “And what about my raise?”

“Tell you what – if you’ll stay naked for the next two days I’ll give you a bonus that’ll make what those assholes at AIG gave themselves look like minimum wage.”

Victoria put her hands on her hips again and glared at him. “No.”

“You won’t get naked for me?”

“I want to wear the sandals.”

 

KINDLE VERSION

NOOK VERSION

 

 

Posted on August 11, 2012, in Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

