A Proposal (From Speaking As A Man: Poetry & Prose)

I can sit here in the darkness

Waiting

I can hide amongst my shadows

Contemplating

 

I can need you instead of want you

Because I do love you

But that would mean my life

Is controlled by the things you do

And for a man like myself

That’s an unsettling truth

 

So I’m going to step into the light

Turn my face up to the sun

Because even though I love you

You won’t be the only one

 

But because I do love you

Here’s my hand if you want on my ride

Because I really love you

And want you by my side

 

So if you want to ride with me

Laugh with me, cry with me

Live with me, love with me

Shiver, moan and sigh with me

Then here’s my hand

 

Or you can wait, and contemplate

 

Believe me, I’ll understand

 

From Speaking As A Man: Poetry & Prose

Available for the Kindle and in Amazon paperback

Posted on February 23, 2012, in Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. “…Because even though I love you, you won’ be the only one…” REALLY???!!!

Leave a Reply

