A Man (For the Spoken Word)

A Man

I will bend over backward to make you happy
Because I love you, and that’s your privilege
But never forget that though you make this house a home
I run it

You make day to day decisions
Bills, groceries, time spent here and there
Because we’re partners
And because I trust your wisdom and intelligence

But if we disagree and can’t make minds meet
Then my word is law
Because if the decision made makes things go wrong
I’m going to put you behind me and take the bullet

Because I’m a man

I know you titter with your girls
About how you let me think I’m in charge
But the truth is that the things I let you win
Aren’t that serious to me

I bend over backward to make you happy
I let you have your victories
But when it’s serious business
Then it’s all business

Then my word is law
And you know not to question
You know not to challenge
You don’t even need to say, “Okay” in agreement

When God said “Let there be light”
Light didn’t say, “Okay”
Light just came the fuck on
You know when you’re supposed to shine

Because you know I’m a man
And you’re my woman
And I will bend over backward to make you happy
But never mistake my love for weakness

Now go tell that to your girls
However you want to spin it

© 2011
The Black

Posted on November 25, 2011, in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I love it!! That feels like a REAL man!!

  2. Ok….so I’m thinking you should title it “REAL Man” Not just any man…can pull that off. A lot of boys out here in Mens clothing. I just feel really good about this piece……I’m gonna tell ALL my friends about it!! 🙂

    • I completely agree, Ms. Mika. Claiming manhood doesn’t make it so. A man has to BE it. And a real woman recognizes the difference, and accepts no substitutes. Thanks for spreading the word! 🙂

  3. Well damn! Nuff said!!!!!!

  4. Love it Black! Now if you know where one of these men exist pass my email address along to him! 😉

  5. I love this. I love how it’s not about being in charge but coming from a caring standpoint. I wish ALL men were taught this.

  6. Lol I love it one day…(dreamy eyes)

Leave a Reply

