Dream Girl: Why?

A friend asked me recently if I could have a Dream Girl, would I want one. My quick, instinctual answer was no. It was probably my ego that made me say so. What, me needing a Dream Girl? Please!

But my delayed, thoughtful answer would have been the same, though for different, non-egotistical reasons. My personality (or twisted fantasies?) don’t work in such a way as to make me desire someone who would cater to my every whim, with no will of her own. That’s not my idea of a good time.

Then there’s the creepiness factor – being around someone who looks, sounds and feels perfectly human right down to the fine hairs, but whom I know is not. I don’t trust things not human because…well…they’re not human. Have you ever had a staring contest with a dog? After a while it becomes creepy. Because the dog isn’t human. Forget those cute little personalities you project onto your pets. Besides, “Okay, where’s the food?” you don’t know what’s really going on in that little canine mind. What you do know is that when it gets right down to it, you can outthink your dog. But a walking, talking computer? No thanks, I’ll pass.

I wouldn’t care that a Dream Girl was better than me at College Algebra. But when she’s staring at me with those eyes like limpid pools of binary code, I’m not going to be thinking about how beautiful she is. I’m going to be thinking, “She’s not human. She’s not really looking at me; she’s processing me.”

Yeah, creepy.

Oh, and the cheap, easy sex? There’s nothing sexy about going to bed with my laptop.

So you might wonder, if having a Dream Girl isn’t my thing, where did the idea for the book come from?

People who know me know that I look at life as one big, “What if?” They know that my “What ifs?” often become stories. In the case of Dream Girl, I’ll just say that Mary Shelly’s 1818 novel Frankenstein begot the current Frankenstein series of novels by Dean Koontz, which begot my “What if?” I decided however, that rather than creatures stitched together from body parts (Mrs. Shelley), or test tube monstrosities grown in a lab (Mr. Koontz), I’d make my “Frankenstein” monsters strictly non-human. So the Dream Girls (yes, there is more than one) are assemblies of very high tech manmade parts: Walking, talking, drop dead gorgeous computers. Think Terminators in tennis skirts. So no people were harmed in the making of my book.

So my idea for Dream Girl wasn’t borne of some personal desire for a physically perfect, subservient woman. It was inspired by two great authors, one from two centuries ago, and one who’s probably writing his next great thriller even as we speak.   

That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.

 

You can pick up Dream Girl by clicking the below links:

Amazon Paperback

Kindle

Nook

Other eBook versions are scheduled for availability in a few weeks.

Posted on August 3, 2011, in Books. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great answer…. 🙂

  2. Well, since someone asked… 🙂

Leave a Reply

